Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
i have knoppix 3.8 installed on hardrive but all so got knoppix 4 dvd is it possible to upgrade from 3 to 4 with out having to format?.is there some ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    33

    is it possible?


    i have knoppix 3.8 installed on hardrive but all so got knoppix 4 dvd is it possible to upgrade from 3 to 4 with out having to format?.is there some thing i could type in the terminal window ?

    tia

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    I can only talk about Fedora, but that distro allows you to upgrade from one version to the next. All I did was boot from the new DVD, then follow the on-screen prompts (it detected a currently installed version of Fedora (and Redhat before that), and asked if I wanted to upgrade or do a fresh install.

    Give it a try, if it looks like Knopix wants to format, then simply switch off or Ctrl C out of it.

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    Nope it won't. What a hd install of knoppix does is simply putting the image of the cd on your hard disk... you can't just upgrade. Knoppix is intended to be a live-distro.
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    33
    cheers for your answers think looks like i will have to stick with 3 till format

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    1,429
    You could use apt-get to upgrade though! Just select the appropriate servers and stuff, that should work. Since it's Debian-based, it should be fine with most servers.
    ** Registered Linux User # 393717 and proud of it ** Check out www.zenwalk.org
    ** Zenwalk 2.8 - Xfce 4.4 beta 2- 2.6.17.6 kernel = Slack on steroids! **

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    4
    I need to know if i can jst get the Wine RPM from the Knoppix Cd that i have....

    I run Red hat 9......

    Plz help me out!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •