Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Well i have 2 CD drives. The first one can read DVD's and CD's. The second one can burn and read CDs and DVD's. The problem is, the first one ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    8

    HELP booting knoppix, CD drive problem


    Well i have 2 CD drives. The first one can read DVD's and CD's. The second one can burn and read CDs and DVD's. The problem is, the first one doesn't work correctly. This leads to another problem; The first drive is the primary CD-ROM drive.

    I reconfigurated my boot setup so that it boots from "IDE CD-ROM device" (if availible) first, then the diskette drive (if availible), then the hard drive (if it's availible).

    Now when I restart my computer with Knoppix in the normal Disc drive, my computer tries to read it and then fails at doing so, so then it checks for a diskette quickly and then just loads WinXP. If I try putting it in the other CD drive, it doesn't even read it because it only checks the broken drive, the floppy drive and the hard drive.

    I believe the easiest solution would be to somehow reconfigure something so that my computer uses the functional CD drive as the primary one. My only problem is, How do I do that? Any help would be appreciated a lot.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    826
    Configure the boot order in the BIOS.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by sether
    Configure the boot order in the BIOS.
    That's not the problem, it's by CD drive, I'm sure of it.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    St Paul, MN
    Posts
    5
    How are you for getting down into the hardware? Right now your drives are jumpered on the back for master and slave. These jumpers can be switched to make the slave the master and vice versa.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by clark1732
    How are you for getting down into the hardware? Right now your drives are jumpered on the back for master and slave. These jumpers can be switched to make the slave the master and vice versa.
    K i will try this, but what do you mean by "jumpered"? Like there is jumper cables on the back of the drives (I think thats wat u mean).

  6. #6
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    The jumper is a small piece of plastic that covers some pins.
    Look for these letters somewhere on the drive.
    Cs for cable select, Ma for master, sl for slave

    You will want to set both of them as cable select or Master and slave, one of them should work.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    8
    sorry for the extra post go down

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    8
    sorry for the extra post go down

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    8
    Okay thanks guys you've been a big help, I just need to actually do it now LOL. I will get it done in the next week or so. I will just need to get permission to take my PC apart =P.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •