Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ive been trying to run feather linux for a while. Cant get it to boot. Did as the website said but no success. Any help? Keeps saying Cannot access Superblock. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Feather-Linux ....uuuuhhhhhhhhhhh-splat!

Ive been trying to run feather linux for a while. Cant get it to boot. Did as the website said but no success. Any help? Keeps saying Cannot access Superblock. Im a REAL newbie, trying to install Linux on a Laptop (Acer Travelmate 723tx). Can Anyone help????

Brendan.

fpd
    Just Joined!
    I would say that your CD is bad if the same superblock keeps getting fingered. This can be because of some things:

1. Bad download of ISO (be sure to check the md5sum)
    2. Bad CD (a physical defect)
    3. Bad CD burner session (got a hiccup during burning the ISO)
    4. Bad CD reader (dirty LASER - use compressed air only)

I just booted Feather Linux 0.7.5 LiveCD and it did well. It even recognized my USB mouse, and Knoppix 3.7 does not. Has the Acer Travlemate been on the market long?

Keep working on it. You will succeed. If you want to try a smaller "first time" Linux, try Puppy or DSL. They are only 50MB (rather than 700MB) and work well for learning.

oz
    forum.guy
    Yeah, certainly sounds like bad burn, or bad iso. I agree that Damn Small Linux might be a good alternative. It's very nice... and since it's so small, it's a quick download and burn, so it's just minutes before you are ready to boot with it.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    okey ....
    Heres the dilemma.... explained in a bit more detail.

I downloaded the version of Feather that boots from USB. I ALWAYS check the md5sums. Extracted to my Sahara 256MB flash disk and then d/loaded the bootusb.img. I checked it too. I used winimage to create the boot floppy. shutdown, bootup, superblock problem. Tries the second bootusb-1.img, same problem.