Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello everyone I am new to this stuff but have been doing lotsssss of research. I recently downloaded the dvd iso image of knoppix and booted it onto my desktop ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help loading Knoppix 4.0

Hello everyone I am new to this stuff but have been doing lotsssss of research. I recently downloaded the dvd iso image of knoppix and booted it onto my desktop and worked well except for the fact that it could not read my hardrives since i have them set up in raid with an nforce onboard crappy controller lol. If anyone knows how to mount the drives and read the data in knoppix without destroying it lemme know please lol? Besides that Ive been having problems booting that same cd onto my dell inspiron6000. It boots to the screen and after pressing enter and all that it runs through the normal detection and all that good stuff right after detecting my network cards i believe it says loading something which i take is the gui desktop (flashes through too fast to read it) after doing this the screen goes black and you can see a cursor in the upper left hand corner of the screen for roughly 10 seconds. After this the computer will hang and do absolutly nothing. Ive tried the commands knoppix ide =nodma, fb800x600 and also tried the function key on my latop for switching between lcd and monitor. I have not tested the cd but assuming that it ran perfectly fine in my desktop I imagine it is not corrupt.
    Please help if anyone has any suggestions. I have spent hours on this.
    PS Ive tried several times to install red hat on my laptop as well the burning the cd at 8x slowest i can, the cd will start the installer and ask me the first couple questions and when it ask me where the image is to be found, after selecting cdrom i get the error that a linux cd was not found!
    For gods sake I just want any version of linux lol!!!!