Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
I have KNOPPIX installed on my HDD, I got all of the windows drivers for my wireless network adapter from the linksys website. There are 4 different ones, there is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    kbk
    kbk is offline
    Linux User kbk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    361

    Help with ndiswrapper


    I have KNOPPIX installed on my HDD, I got all of the windows drivers for my wireless network adapter from the linksys website. There are 4 different ones, there is a version 1, 2 and 4 driver on there. I have tried all the different ones, but none seem to work. I start up the ndiswrapper and load them up and it says that no new device is found. Am I doing something wrong? Any help is appreciated, I've been trying to get this to work for a LONG time..

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    What is the model of your card?

  3. #3
    kbk
    kbk is offline
    Linux User kbk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    361
    The model is WUSB54G.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    find the usbid with the command (as root) lspci then find exact match on this site and download driver sometimes all drivers don't work if you get them on your own for example from a disc provided with card

    http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/m...dex.php/List#L
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  6. #5
    kbk
    kbk is offline
    Linux User kbk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    361
    Ok well I got something to work, but I still can't do anything online. I have configured and reconfigured the card many times and the last time I did it this is what iwconfig came up with:

    Code:
    Wlan0:  IEEE 802.11g ESSID:  off/any
    mode:managed  Frequency:  2.462 GHz  access point:  00:00:00:00:00:00
    bit rate:  2 MB/s  RTS thr:  2432 B  fragment Thr:  2346 B  power management:  off   link quality:  100/100   signal level:  -64 dBm   Noise level:  -256 dBm  Rx invalid nwid:  0   Rx invalid crypt:  0   Rx invalid frag:  0
    Tx excessive retried:  5   invalid misc:  27    missed beacon:  0
    That is all copied work for work right from a paper that I wrote it all on, so it doesn't all appear just like that on the screen but all the info is there..

  7. #6
    Linux Guru AlexK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    3,379
    try this command as root:
    Code:
    iwconfig wlan0 essid my_essid
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    it looks like your card is fine you just need to tell it what access point to connect to. Use the iwconfig command like posted above. Then dhcpcd wlan0
    that should do it. Unless you have a WEP address you you do: iwconfig wlan0 key XXXXXXX where X is your key.
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  9. #8
    kbk
    kbk is offline
    Linux User kbk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    361
    Before I can get to doing those things, I have another problem. I had to reboot my computer, and it undid everything I had done with ndiswrapper and iwconfig, so I reloaded the exact same driver as I did last night when I got it to work. It doesn't work. WHY?! and how do I fix it?! This is truly maddening, and I won't give up, I'm not going back to winblows..

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer spencerf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Syracuse, NY
    Posts
    1,144
    just run # modprobe ndiswrapper as root when you reboot. Then at some point you need to tell your system to automatically load ndiswrapper at boot. I'm not sure with your distro how to do this but you could easily google it or someone else can tell you. Once you modprobe ndiswrapper then you should be all set to.

    ifconfig wlan0 up
    iwconfig wlan "nameofessid"
    iwconfig wlan key "key"
    dhcpcd wlan0

    ok
    All right, brain. You don't like me and I don't like you, but let's just do this and I can get back to killing you with beer. All New Users Read This!!! If you have a grub problem please look at GRUB MANUAL

  11. #10
    kbk
    kbk is offline
    Linux User kbk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    361
    Nevermind this post. I seem to have gotten back to where I was before and i am trying those codes. Thanks for the help, lets hope this works.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •