Find the answer to your Linux question:
First- I'm a total Linux newbie. I took the time to read a few pages of these forums, but I didn't find anything that I was sure would apply to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Gaining Permissions to copy from HDD to HDD?

First- I'm a total Linux newbie. I took the time to read a few pages of these forums, but I didn't find anything that I was sure would apply to this.My problem:

I have an XP OS installed on an HDD with all my files and programs. This HDD does NOT boot. I have a new HDD, with another XP OS installed. The new HDD is almost blank- just very basic files are in there. I am using KNOPPIX to try to copy my Documents and Settings, Program Files, etc (basically all my media) from my non-bootable old HDD to my new HDD. I want to copy everything I can besides the actual Windows files (cause it would probably copy the boot error). When I try to copy some of the files, for instance videos from my old user desktop to my new user desktp, using KNOPPIX- I get informed that I do not have permission to do so. I right-clicked the folders/files and changed the permissions (or at least tried), but then I was informed that I do not have permission to change the permissions. Basically I am being denied access to most of my files on my old HDD that I would like to copy to my new HDD.

I have heard that maybe a USB/IDE cable could help (I don't have one though). But, I would much rather try to copy the files using KNOPPIX. I have been trying to solve this for weeks- PLEASE help me ; ;.

P.S.- Sorry if this is a stupid question or if I missed a thread which answers it.

The problem you are having is that you are trying to read/write to an NTFS partition. Writing to NTFS is not really supported, and the systems that do it are unfortunately not stable. If you were writing to FAT32 you would be able to, NTFS is still tricky for the moment.

Just Joined!