Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi, I'm wondering if there is a way to boot from CD or floppy if there is a passwd. protected bios and booting is done from hd. I'm asking this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3

    Booting Knoppix with a passwd-protected BIOS


    Hi,

    I'm wondering if there is a way to boot from CD or floppy if there is a passwd. protected bios and booting is done from hd. I'm asking this because I would like to try Knoppix. I'm currently using Windows XP and I have only user priviliges on this.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Linux User Giles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gloucestershire and Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    283
    Is there a good reason why you haven't got the neccessary priveliges on that computer?

    If, for example, it's a work computer and the IT dept don't want operating systems that they don't know and can't control running on the company's comps then helping you to get round this might well turn out to be helping you to lose your job

    Giles
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are powerless. Our greatest fear is Microsoft"
    Registered linux user #391027

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3
    It's a contest between me and the IT dep. I have the ok from them if I can work this out. I tried some things but nothing worked. I hoped that someone here can help me.

    Greetings!

    Florian

  4. #4
    Linux User Giles's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Gloucestershire and Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    283
    LOL

    A lot of BIOSs have default passwords which are set before they're shipped, and often not removed even if other passwords are set - if you google your BIOS revision you might well find references to it. However, if the IT dept challenged you on this they've probably already closed off that option.

    The other thing I'd suggest is this: if the challenge was to try linux, rather than neccessarily booting from a linux CD, DamnSmallLinux will run inside windows*, so that may be an easier approach.

    HTH
    Giles

    *At least, the website says it can, and they've never deceived me yet (I metion that because I haven't tried to do this myself)
    "Our greatest fear is not that we are powerless. Our greatest fear is Microsoft"
    Registered linux user #391027

  5. #5
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Can you get to the inside of the computer?
    If so, take out the CMOS chip, boot up without it.
    Turn off the pc, put the CMOS chip back in, boot, and the password will be cleared.
    The CMOS chip looks just like a coin.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #6
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Can you get to the inside of the computer?
    If so, take out the CMOS chip, boot up without it.
    Turn off the pc, put the CMOS chip back in, boot, and the password will be cleared.
    The CMOS chip looks just like a coin.
    Mouhaha. Good idea.

    You can just take out the CMOS battery for about 10 secs. Put it back in, and boot. As "budman7" said the BIOS will reset to default values.

    I'm not sure if "they" will like it...
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3
    Thanks guys for replies! But this is the challenge: I have to try do this without a hardware BIOS reset. A backdoor passwrd. for BIOS won't work coz I have the AWARD BIOS 6.0 PG version which, as far as I know, doesn't have a backdoor passwd. I thought that maybe there is a tool which could change the boot device or something like this...

    I used to have power user rights (almost all of admin. privileges) but I had a fight with the IT people coz: Windows sucks... Linux rulz!!! Right? So... this is the chalenge... Help me show them that Windows really sucks...

    Greetings!!!

    Florian

  8. #8
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    There is topoligilinux, which runs on top of Windows.
    I have read somewhere that DSL can also run within Windows.

    http://www.damnsmalllinux.org/
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  9. #9
    Linux Newbie craigevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Terra in the Milky Way
    Posts
    109
    Go here ftp://ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/distribu...nsmall/current
    and download the embedded version of DSL, it boots in windows using qemu.

    Just unzip it and run it and your running Linux.


    Anyway a quick google for ...

    BIOS +password +clear +reset

    Would return useful results like
    I didn't show you this , i don't know how it got on my post.
    How to Bypass BIOS Passwords
    http://www.uktsupport.co.uk/reference/biosp.htm
    Debian Sid LXDE Kernel liquorix CPU Pentium IV 2.80GHz GeForce 9400 GT
    Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
    Giant Debian sources.list | Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •