Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
So I'm attempting to install Gentoo on my system, and I was suggested to use Knoppix to compile and then build the Gentoo system from Knoppix. The problem is, at ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Linux User

Knoppix live CD with no internet connection

So I'm attempting to install Gentoo on my system, and I was suggested to use Knoppix to compile and then build the Gentoo system from Knoppix. The problem is, at residence at my university, I am connected via LAN, and when I try to open Firefox, I do not have a connection. I was suggested to see if my internet settings are set to DHCP etc, but I can't find where to do that in Knoppix. Please note that I'll need definate STEP BY STEP instructions as I am VERY new to Linux (I've had a brief stint with SuSE and a few other distros) but I feel like jumping into the deep end and trying out Gentoo.

So, with my LAN setup at residence at my university, where I have a connection on Windows but not my Knoppix Live CD, how can I get internet access on the Live CD for when I install Gentoo....?

search in the main bar, there's a lot of nice scripts to do mos common tasks in knoppix
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

You can also take a look here to configurate manually your network. http://www.debianhelp.co.uk/network.htm (knoppix is debian based)
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux User
    I'll check that link out, thanks.

Linux User