Find the answer to your Linux question:
Im a complete noob when it comes to linux, so I wanted to try it without installing it on one of my drives since I knew it would mess up ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Can't find harddrive in XP

Im a complete noob when it comes to linux, so I wanted to try it without installing it on one of my drives since I knew it would mess up my MBR. So, I downloaded knoppix and booted, looked around a bit, and then I tried to use
    Code:
    /mount hd1f
    or whatever the name of the drive was. Knoppix answered by saying that it couldnt detect the filesystem, or something like that (NTFS, so I guess it was kinda stupid to try and mount in the first place)

anyway, after that, i shutdown knoppix and booted with XP as usual, and now I cant see the drive. I can see it in BIOS so theres nothing wrong there. So, my question is, how can I find my drive again without messing up the data it stores?

Quote Originally Posted by sunriser
    Im a complete noob when it comes to linux, so I wanted to try it without installing it on one of my drives since I knew it would mess up my MBR. So, I downloaded knoppix and booted, looked around a bit, and then I tried to use
    Code:
    /mount hd1f
    or whatever the name of the drive was. Knoppix answered by saying that it couldnt detect the filesystem, or something like that (NTFS, so I guess it was kinda stupid to try and mount in the first place)
    In Knoppix, you can mount NTFS drivers like that :
    Code:
    mount -t ntfs -o user,umask=0222,nls=utf8 /dev/hda1 /mnt/windows
    Given /dev/hda1 is your windows partition (the output of fdisk -l will tell you) and /mnt/windows is the mount point, which must be an existing empty directory.

There are hundreds of threads regarding this exact same question, so if you want more details, search the forum.