Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I am new to Knoppix; am using it to recover data from a hard drive that cannot be accessed via Windows (inpage operation error). I have booted with Knoppix 5.01. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

unable to copy files from hd to hd

I am new to Knoppix; am using it to recover data from a hard drive that cannot be accessed via Windows (inpage operation error). I have booted with Knoppix 5.01. Internal drives are recognized as hda and hdb; bad drive is attached via external USB and is recognized as sda. I am able to see the folder that I want to recover, but when I try to copy it from sda to either hda or hdb, I get an error message indicating that I do not have proper permissions. As far as I know, I have both read and write permissions for both hda and hdb. Can someone advise me why I cannot copy to either drive and how to correct this problem?

Thanks in advance.

Just Joined!
    Right click the icon for each drive, and in the menu that pops up, select: Properties> Permissions> change all permissions to>can read and write, and click on >is executable. Now click on : Device> uncheck read only. click on ok. Now when you highlight the drive, at the bottom of the box it should say> writeable: Yes . Mount the drives, and you should be able to copy files now.

Just Joined!

thanks - but not 100% successful

I tried what you said, but had only partial success. Additional information:
    When the external drive is mounted, a message appears saying the drive was mounted dirty.
    If I try to copy a folder containing files and subfolders (by opening two windows and dragging-and-dropping), a few of the subfolders are created on the target, but then I get the message:
    Could not make folder /media/hdb1/james/My Documents/filelib (or other folder)