Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm running Knoppix from CD and it boots fine, but i can't seem to get it to recognise my router, with a cable or wirelessly. Can anyone give me any ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help please

I'm running Knoppix from CD and it boots fine, but i can't seem to get it to recognise my router, with a cable or wirelessly.

Can anyone give me any pointers how to get the Mozilla browser working.
    I'm a complete LINUX newbie. Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere, please direct me to any relevant threads.

Thanks.

Are you using DHCP? or a static IP address?
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

Just Joined!
    Thanks for your help.

Using a static IP at the moment. I've sorted the LAN connection so I can now use the web browser. Can't get the wireless connection sorted though, it's not recognising my adaptor. It's a Dell 1450 USB adaptor, and using an Auditor Security Collection LiveCD.

Thanks again

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Newbie
    allauthorsareequal,
    I am referencing the Ask Klaus column in a recent issue if Linux Magazine in which Mr. Knopper said to use iwconfig from konsole as root.

For example, my setup is DHCP and I don't have WEP/WPA on the router I wish to connect to so I typed "iwconfig eth0 Wolfton" and then hit enter. Then I typed "pump -i eth0" to release/renew my IP address.