Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Hi, I just got a terminal from school, and i wanted it to boot good ol' linux.. however, normally, when you boot a pc, you get the "press f2 to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4

    bios disabled completely?


    Hi,

    I just got a terminal from school,
    and i wanted it to boot good ol' linux..
    however, normally, when you boot a pc,
    you get the "press f2 to enter ..."..
    the admin at our school disabled this menu,
    so there is no way i can get into the bios, to make it boot from a usb stick..

    any help?

    Huib

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    68
    Which key you press to enter bios setup will depend on which bios you have. Different bios mfgs. use different keys, some use F1, F2, some use the delete key, and several others. Try different keys to get in. Will it boot from cd, you could use a live cd version? Also the administrator at the school may have the bios password protected, is it asking you for a password? Or you could always ask the administrator how to get in it, that is if you borrowed it legally!! LOL

  3. #3
    Linux User tech_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    385
    Quote Originally Posted by huib keemink
    Hi,

    I just got a terminal from school,
    and i wanted it to boot good ol' linux..
    however, normally, when you boot a pc,
    you get the "press f2 to enter ..."..
    the admin at our school disabled this menu,
    so there is no way i can get into the bios, to make it boot from a usb stick..

    any help?

    Huib
    Try all the function keys and delete.
    'Tis better to be silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.'
    --Abraham Lincoln

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4
    well obviously i tried that all before
    it used to be f2, some terminals at school still have that text floating around:
    "press f2 to ...", however the admin disabled that,
    so if i press any key at all, it just doesnt show the bios menu..

    ah and by the way.. we all know bios passwords are rubbish..
    every bios has like a zillion backup passwords to get in

    but.. i didnt borrow it legally..:redface: i have permission to check the entire system for any security holes,
    and if i can get linux to boot.. you know..

    either way, thanks for the replies!

    Huib

    edit: i cannot boot from a cd, since the terminals do not have a cd drive

  5. #5
    Linux User tech_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    385
    ^^ Sound likes a pretty secure computer than.
    'Tis better to be silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.'
    --Abraham Lincoln

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4
    ^^ nah, not really actually..
    its a win 2003 server..
    i can access the register, i could write to the register (they fixed that)
    i can run cmd.exe, i can run task manager etc etc etc..

    so its like, all i need is linux, but I cant get the bloody bios to show up!
    ahwell, I guess nobody knows about this

    thanks for the comments either way!

    Huib

  7. #7
    Linux User tech_man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    385
    Quote Originally Posted by huib keemink
    ^^ nah, not really actually..
    its a win 2003 server..
    i can access the register, i could write to the register (they fixed that)
    i can run cmd.exe, i can run task manager etc etc etc..

    so its like, all i need is linux, but I cant get the bloody bios to show up!
    ahwell, I guess nobody knows about this

    thanks for the comments either way!

    Huib
    Is the keyboard PS2 or USB?
    'Tis better to be silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt.'
    --Abraham Lincoln

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4
    usb,

    its a "HP Compaq T 5125" terminal..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •