Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
I have a network connection that uses fixed Ip addresses and fixed DNS numbers, I am able to connect using windows XP, but I cannot do so on Knoppix, knidly ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    15

    How to setup broadban internet via ethernet on Knoppix


    I have a network connection that uses fixed Ip addresses and fixed DNS numbers, I am able to connect using windows XP, but I cannot do so on Knoppix, knidly advise how I can do this,

    The settings are....

    IP address: 192.168.0.12
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Primary DNS: 61.0.0.5
    Secondary DNS: 61.0.96.69

    thanks in advance.....

    ab

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    Have your tried using the scripts in the KDE toolbar at the bottom, they simplify everything a lot.
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    15
    Sorry no, I am new to linux you will have to help me there....
    ab

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined! racknrail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    an island in the pacific
    Posts
    4
    Please be kind. I am a complete newb, but I am willing to learn.

    I am having the same problem on my laptop. I can boot to the knoppix CD no problem, but I cannot connect to the internet. I am guessing knoppix has drivers, but I thought Knoppix would detect my hardware.

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    20
    plz help
    i am also having the same problem
    i have knoppix 5.1.1 live cd it boots fine but i am not getting how to use internet

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re:

    Congratulations you have the same problem as me.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    15

    Re:

    Congratulations you have the same problem as me.

    I hope you figure out, but dont worry you laways have bill gates to help you out

  9. #8
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    Again, did you try the scripts in the KDE toolbar?
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  10. #9
    Just Joined! racknrail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    an island in the pacific
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by Juan Pablo View Post
    Again, did you try the scripts in the KDE toolbar?
    those scripts do not work for my wireless card. I, unfortunately, have an Acer laptop with a built in network card. I am unable to connect using any of the scripts on the KDE toolbar, Knoppix CD. Any other ideas, besides buying another Network card?

  11. #10
    Just Joined! racknrail's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    an island in the pacific
    Posts
    4
    I am a bit confused. This is a linux help forum, but hardly anyone seems willing to help. It certainly isn't very encouraging for a new linux user.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •