Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
hey guys, sorry if this info is somewhere else but im lost. im booting the live cd and want to access the files on my WD 250g sata hdd but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    17

    5.1.1 hdd access


    hey guys, sorry if this info is somewhere else but im lost.
    im booting the live cd and want to access the files on my WD 250g sata hdd but cant seem to get knoppix to find the drive.
    after trying previous methods to rescue files off the hdd ( previously fc6 install), i was hoping to use knoppix to burn files to disc then formatt the hdd

    is this poss? and any ideas how to get knoppix to find my hdd?

    any help would be great

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    what filesystem Fedora has? post the output of 'fdisk -l' command?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    what filesystem Fedora has? post the output of 'fdisk -l' command?
    filesystem size used availi used% mounted on

    /dev/Volgroup01/LogVol00

    224G 182G 21G 86% /

    /dev/mapper/navidia_afhfbecep1

    99m 12m 83m 12% /boot

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    its LVM. you have to activate volume groups first.
    execute this
    Code:
    vgascan
    vgachange -a y
    execute lvs or vgdisplay or lvdisplay command and note down volume names.
    output example :
    LV VG Attr LSize Origin Snap% Move Log Copy%
    home vg -wi-ao 7.09G
    var vg -wi-ao 1.02G
    two volgroups, home and var. execute these to mount volgroups :
    Code:
    mkdir first second
    mount /dev/vg/home  first
    mount /dev/vg/var    second
    check first and second folders.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    its LVM. you have to activate volume groups first.
    execute this
    Code:
    vgascan
    vgachange -a y
    execute lvs or vgdisplay or lvdisplay command and note down volume names.
    output example :
    two volgroups, home and var. execute these to mount volgroups :
    Code:
    mkdir first second
    mount /dev/vg/home  first
    mount /dev/vg/var    second
    check first and second folders.
    sorry im a total linux noob

    do u mean run the first code to find out the volume names then use the last code to mount them in knoppix?

    sorry like i said im a n00b with linux

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    do u mean run the first code to find out the volume names then use the last code to mount them in knoppix?
    yes. open Konsole and execute 'vgascan' and 'vgachange -a y' to activate volume groups.
    well ! execute this
    Code:
    vgascan
    vgachange -a y
    vgdisplay
    post output here. if vgdisplay doesn't give any output, try lvs or lvdisplay.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    yes. open Konsole and execute 'vgascan' and 'vgachange -a y' to activate volume groups.
    well ! execute this
    Code:
    vgascan
    vgachange -a y
    vgdisplay
    post output here. if vgdisplay doesn't give any output, try lvs or lvdisplay.
    is all the code in knoppix terminal, i tried the vgascan in a fc6 resue window and got nothing i asume jn gettin mxed up

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    aren't you using knoppix? you wrote that in your first post.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    aren't you using knoppix? you wrote that in your first post.
    yea sorry i was gettin confused with other advise

    when i run "vgascan" i get "vgascan: command not found"

    if i run "vgdisplay"

    i get --- Volume group ---
    VG Name VolGroup01
    System ID
    Format lvm2
    Metadata Areas 1
    Metadata Sequence No 3
    VG Access read/write
    VG Status resizable
    MAX LV 0
    Cur LV 2
    Open LV 0
    Max PV 0
    Cur PV 1
    Act PV 1
    VG Size 232.78 GB
    PE Size 32.00 MB
    Total PE 7449
    Alloc PE / Size 7448 / 232.75 GB
    Free PE / Size 1 / 32.00 MB
    VG UUID PS7PsU-ufMx-uXKS-iOZq-Gq9B-JKAs-J1Mkre

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    17
    i also changed ur command vgascan and vgachange

    i took out the "a" and they ran correctly now

    root@Knoppix:~# lvdisplay
    --- Logical volume ---
    LV Name /dev/VolGroup01/LogVol00
    VG Name VolGroup01
    LV UUID DvPqQg-0ZuP-bgQX-c2HJ-g5hM-nfAk-0P0r7u
    LV Write Access read/write
    LV Status available
    # open 0
    LV Size 230.81 GB
    Current LE 7386
    Segments 1
    Allocation inherit
    Read ahead sectors 0
    Block device 254:3

    --- Logical volume ---
    LV Name /dev/VolGroup01/LogVol01
    VG Name VolGroup01
    LV UUID vBpqi6-QunR-6eEh-0oho-FdUl-7eAW-1p9zd1
    LV Write Access read/write
    LV Status available
    # open 0
    LV Size 1.94 GB
    Current LE 62
    Segments 1
    Allocation inherit
    Read ahead sectors 0
    Block device 254:4

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •