Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
I have spend hours trying to partition my disks so that i can install Knoppix but everytime I use qtparted and resize the partitions and press okay a blank box ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    25

    Partitioning


    I have spend hours trying to partition my disks so that i can install Knoppix but everytime I use qtparted and resize the partitions and press okay a blank box appears with an exclamation mark and no writing in, obviously i'm not doing something write. I've tried using cfdisk to partion but I'm not sure how if its possible to resize the partions as I want to be able to dual boot. Someone please help!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    post your exiting partition structure here. execute this
    Code:
    su
    fdisk -l
    post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    25
    I did what you said and this is what I GOT

    Disk /dev/sda: 40.0 GB, 40007761920 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4864 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 11 88326 de Dell Utility
    /dev/sda2 * 12 4471 35824950 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3 4472 4863 3148740 db CP/M / CTOS /

    Hope that helps, i'm desperate!

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    25
    Hey I've just run qtparted and it seems to be working fine now, but i'm still not sure what I should be doing, I can only partition my main disk into two, one for windows and the other for Linux, do I then have to partition the Linux partition to make the swap file or ...

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    delete new partition and leave space as free/unpartitioned. select 'Free/Unpartitioned space' in Partition section during installation. Linux Installer will create and format neccessay partitions out of free space.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    25
    I haven't yet created the new partition as I haven't commited to the changes yet, I've just reduced the size of the windows partition, when I click on commit it says something about making sure the disk isn't busy and having to dismount partitions?

  7. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you have to unmount all partitions first.
    i would suggest you to use GParted LiveCD for partitioning. its one of the best partition manager and has user friendly interface. size around 30 MB only.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    25
    When you download that do you have to burn it to a disk or something? Can I use that to unmount my partitions or can I use knoppix?

  9. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you have to burn downloaded .iso image to disk.
    Can I use that to unmount my partitions or can I use knoppix?
    first of all, execute 'df -h' command and check which partitions are mounted.
    execute umount /dev/<partition> to unmount partition.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    25
    root@Knoppix:/ramdisk/home/knoppix# unmount/dev/sda2
    bash: unmount/dev/sda2: No such file or directory

    this just happens everytime, so I have to dismount all partitions, then i presume when i've dismounted them and resized the windows partition I will have to mount them all again? I really dont know why i'm making it so difficult to install knoppix.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •