Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
I've created a swap file using cfdisk and have resized my windwos partition to make a new partition for the main Knoppix file. When I try and use the knx2hd ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    25

    Unusable Partition


    I've created a swap file using cfdisk and have resized my windwos partition to make a new partition for the main Knoppix file. When I try and use the knx2hd install command it always says I need to partition my disk even thought its already done. When I go into cfdisk my swap file is there but the partition I made for the main knoppix file is 'unusable' please help if possible!

    sda1 Primary Dell Utility 90.
    sda2 Boot Primary NTFS [] 31488*
    Unusable 5196*
    71 sda3 Primary W95 FAT32 3092
    83 sda5 Logical Linux 139

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    How did you create Logical Partition without creating Extended?
    its not possible to create this kind of partition structure. you must be missing something here. post the output of fdisk -l command.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    25
    Here it is, hope this helps

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id S ystem
    /dev/sda1 1 11 88326 de D ell Utility
    /dev/sda2 * 12 3840 30750594+ 7 H PFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3 4472 4847 3020220 b W 95 FAT32
    /dev/sda4 4848 4864 136552+ 5 E xtended
    /dev/sda5 4848 4864 136521 83 L inux

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    /dev/sda5 4848 4864 136521 83 Linux
    there is only one Linux partition, /dev/sda5 and its not SWAP. its formatted in ext3 filesystem and its size is too small. how much free space do you have?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    25
    Well I partitioned the disc where I have windows and I easily have enough room for the swap file and 5-10 Gb for the main file, I really dont know what has happened though, I thought i had partitioned it but clearly not, what can I do? I just want to install Knoppix and dual boot it with Windows XP

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    your free space is outside of Extended Partition and its not possible to create any new partition outside Extended partition coz 3 Primary Partitions exist already. its not possible to create 4th.

    first of all, delete Linux ( Logical, sda5 ) and Extended ( sda4 ) partitions. Create one big Extended Partition consuming whole free space. create a SWAP partition, ( 512 MB is enough ) and a ext3 partition inside Extended Partition.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    25
    RIght this is what I've done now:

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 11 88326 de Dell Utility
    /dev/sda2 * 12 3840 30750594+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3 4472 4847 3020220 b W95 FAT32
    /dev/sda4 3840 4471 5074355+ 5 Extended
    /dev/sda5 3840 3902 497983+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    /dev/sda6 3902 4471 4576309 83 Linux

    I hope that looks okay, next step?

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    this is a correct Partition Structure. start Knoppix installation, select /dev/sda6 as / (root) partition and /dev/sda5 as SWAP. dont change anything in Boot Loader section. installer will setup dual boot for you.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    25
    Evverytime I start the installation process Knoppix tells me that I have to partition my drive, but I've already done this, is there anyway I can by-pass the installation menu and install it manually/myself but still be able to dual boot?

  11. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    which version of Knoppix do you have?
    execute this
    Code:
    su
    knoppix-installer
    select step 2 . Start Installation,
    select Debian Like System -- select /dev/sda6 partition and follow installers instructions.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •