Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok. I'm new to Linux. I hope this is the right forum. I installed DSL (Damn small Linux) on a really old laptop and brought it back from the dead. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

DSL (Damn Small Linux) Help!! I'm new

Ok. I'm new to Linux. I hope this is the right forum. I installed DSL (Damn small Linux) on a really old laptop and brought it back from the dead. I love it. However, when I booted the computer, it gave me 4 options (for graphics modes). I was constantly arrowing down to the 3rd options and hitting enter. I searched the internet and found a site where it told me what file to edit to change this. I can't find that site anymore but it was some menu file (if I remember correctly). Now, when I boot, I get a grub> prompt and I don't know what to do. I think I need to load the appropriate kernel using the kernel command. However, I don't know how to find out which one I was using. I tried using the CAT command to list files.. but that even appears to be not behaving correctly (I can't get it to list anything at all). I'm lost.. about to just reformat and re-install.. but I thought I would try here first. Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Barry16801 View Post