Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hello all, I recently stumbled across an old laptop running WinNT. I immediatly set about to put Linux on it. Mandrake 10.0 D/L Edition installed like a dream. It even ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907

    Mandrake 10.0 on Compaq Aramda m700 mouse issue


    Hello all,

    I recently stumbled across an old laptop running WinNT. I immediatly set about to put Linux on it. Mandrake 10.0 D/L Edition installed like a dream. It even had ATI Mobilty drivers and auto detected my card. I was under the impression ATI drivers weren't included with dl edition?

    Anyway... I'm sure I'll be asking about a million questions in the next couple of weeks, but here's one right off the bat.

    Whenever I resume from suspend mode (APM, no ACPI for some reason), the mouse moves real chopy. For example, it'll be over the start menu, I'll give it a nudge and it won't response immediatly, but when it does respond it's at the top of the screen. Logging out to restart the X server doesn't fix it, but restarting always solves this problem, and the mouse is smooth again. I've tried various settings with the screen resolution, but nothing seems to work. Any ideas?

    Thanks everone!
    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  2. #2
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    ps/2 or usb? and suspend or hibernate?
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    It's the stick in the keyboard, not an external mouse, and I think it's configured as something like:

    any/ ps2

    Or something like that. Drat! Too bad I'm at work right now.

    I'm not sure if it's suspend or hibernate, but I'm thinking suspend. In power management, there is no hibernate feature anywhere, just susupend. Is there a way I would know?

    Thanks,
    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  4. #4
    Linux Guru kkubasik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Lat: 39:03:51N Lon: 77:14:37W
    Posts
    2,396
    Hibernate actual shuts down the computer, but stores all the contents of the ram on the hard disk, then when you boot back up, it reloads it all. Basicaly, does the computer still draw power? even if its a small amount, then i have no clue, but if you are hibernating, then something is probaly wrong with the section of your disk that stores the data. I dont know how to change this in linux (infact, im not even sure there is a hibernate option standard). I've never run linux on a laptop, so im stumped, i had a similar problem, but i had configured my mouse incorrectly (said it had 3 buttons and a wheel, when only 2 buttons) so yeah, try a few differnt mouse configs (even if they dont make sense) and see if that helps...
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

    Formerly Known as qub333

  5. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907
    The computer is still drawig power, so I think it's in suspend.

    That's an excellent suggestion, I will try it out soon and let you know.

    Thanks,
    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,907

    [Solved]Mandrake 10.0 on Compaq Aramda m700 mouse issue

    By commenting out the line

    Code:
    CHANGE_VT="7"
    in the file /etc/sysconfig/suspend, this issue was solved.

    Jeremy
    Registered Linux user #346571
    "All The Dude ever wanted was his rug back" - The Dude

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •