Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Hello, I am a linux newbie. I wanted to switch to linux because I was so tired of using XP, and vista seemed to be a resourse hogging spying craphouse. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Laptop gets so hot. Why?

Hello, I am a linux newbie. I wanted to switch to linux because I was so tired of using XP, and vista seemed to be a resourse hogging spying craphouse. After using an Ubuntu 7.1 liveCD, I knew I pretty much wanted to switch operating systems.

My laptop is an IBM t40. It has a 1.5Ghz PentiumM, 512 megs of ram, and an ati radeon 7500 video card. In XP, this is such a cool running laptop- I could sit it in my lap, surf the web, listen to music, and the bottom would never get hot. Only on a hot day, on my lap, and doing everything would it get luke-warm, and the fan would come on for a few minutes to cool it down.

Linux installation on the other hand, make my system burning hot. I'll have it sitting on a desk, not using it at all(just the desktop running), and after about 10 minutes, the bottom will be hot to touch, until the fan comes on and usually doesn't stop for a good 20 minutes. Even after the fan stops, it comes on after another five minutes because the T40 gets hot again.

It's the same symptom on all the distros I've tried. I've tried opensuse 10.3, Ubuntu 6.06 7.04 7.10, Xubuntu 7.10, and Fedora Core 8. All the same problem. I have been searching ibm forums and google for any fixes for this, but it doesn't even seem like any other t40 owners have the problem. I also checked if it was speedstepping, and it was. I even changed 'ondemand' to user specified, at a constant 600mhz, but still hot.