Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi..I am havin a vaio laptop with intel pro wireless ethernet n realtek 8139/810x famile fast ethernet.I am using WinXP n RHEL5 in my system.I am unable to connect internet..my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    26

    Realtek ethernet doesnt work


    Hi..I am havin a vaio laptop with intel pro wireless ethernet n realtek 8139/810x famile fast ethernet.I am using WinXP n RHEL5 in my system.I am unable to connect internet..my ethernet doesnt get activated..dunno wat to do but it works fines in XP.Can sumone help me out??

  2. #2
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    If you are sure it's an 8139 chipset then you can use this command to verify you have the module loaded.
    Code:
    lsmod |grep 8139
    If you get no joy, then try loading the module manually:
    Code:
    modprobe 8139
    or
    Code:
    modprobe 8139too
    You won't see any output if the module loads correctly, but again, use the above command to see if it loaded
    Code:
    lsmod |grep 8139
    Then try to get your network going, and do let us know how you get on.
    Last edited by MikeTbob; 05-11-2008 at 05:21 AM. Reason: Added code tags
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    26
    mii-tool cmd fetches an output that no mii interfaces found..

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    26
    also on booting,while it checks for eth interface,it displays tat 8139too does nt seem to be present

  5. #5
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Can you post the exact error messages please?
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    26
    This the error message :

    Bringing up eth0 interface: 8139too device eth0 does not seem to be present delaying initialisation.
    [FAILED]

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    26
    one more thing,when i restart the network service following error msg appears,

    Shutting down loopback interface: [ OK ]
    Bringing up loopback interface: [ OK ]
    Bringing up interface eth0: 8139too device eth0 does not seem to be present, delaying initialization.
    [FAILED]
    Bringing up interface data: [FAILED]

  8. #8
    Administrator MikeTbob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    7,864
    Can you issue this command, so we can see exactly which chipset you are using:
    lspci |grep net
    Try doing this as root and please Post the output here.
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help, Please keep it on the forums only.
    All new users please read this.** Forum FAQS. ** Adopt an unanswered post.

    I'd rather be lost at the lake than found at home.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    26
    the output is

    06:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 01)


    I think i ve wrongly diagonised my ethernet..so wat must i do 2 make it up n running..???

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •