Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey everyone, I am a college student who is investigating the posibility of switching or using Linux. I am considering a Linux platform for my current Laptop..a 3 yr old ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Hi from future Linux user

Hey everyone, I am a college student who is investigating the posibility of switching or using Linux.

I am considering a Linux platform for my current Laptop..a 3 yr old Dell..and/or possibly looking at buying a desktop and hooking it up with Linux.

I have a few questions I hope can be answered...

1. What Linux would you recomend for for heavy media usage...eg: lots of music and movie playing, editing, etc.

2. Can you have Vista and Linux on the same machine?

3. What would say would be the biggest difficulty/problem I might have being a new Linux user who used primarily Windows for most of his life.

Thanks a lot and I hope to be a new Linux user as soon as I decide what platfrom to use.

gilld2

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

Maybe take a look at Sabayon.

Yes

Understanding that linux is NOT windows.

Check this thread for more info on getting started with linux.

Hope you have fun with it.
    oz

1. Sabayon's good. But almost any of the major distributions will keep you happy. Download a few liveCDs and play around with things. Linux Mint is supposed to have pretty good multimedia support.
    2. Yes. It's easy. For most distributions, the installer will look after that. Google for dual-booting and disc partitioning.
    3. You need to remember that being fluent with Windows doesn't necessarily make you a computer/OS expert. Changing operating system can come as a bit of a culture shock. Just take your time, and try to understand things. Being part of a community, along with a willingness to ask questions and make mistakes, will really help with this!

Have fun, and welcome to the forums!