Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I recently bought a new laptop (Advent 5401 with vista), i have most versions of linux (puppy, mandriva, ubuntu, kubuntu, suse... etc) i have md5 checked all disks and are ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7

    Exclamation Linux on laptop problems..........


    I recently bought a new laptop (Advent 5401 with vista), i have most versions of linux (puppy, mandriva, ubuntu, kubuntu, suse... etc) i have md5 checked all disks and are ok. some install ok/dodgy. But ultimatly there is a problem connecting to the internet on any of them.
    When on kubuntu the terminal programme will not let me sign in as SU. i have read through many forums and noticed people having the same problem (TYPICAL NOOB PROBLEM) and found out that the password does not appear to type in... i have read to just ignor this problem and carry on typing password as if its there.. but still !AUTHENTICATION FAILURE! so im stuck on kubuntu.
    After restarting the machine and now using suse i can access the terminal SU and do various other checks... but still no internet connection.
    (there is not a problem with my network as i have 3 other PC's and 2 other desktops using linux (of sorts) and another desktop using windows xp and are all connected without a problem)
    Could there be a problem with the network card running with linux??
    Could vista still have its claws in the MBR preventing anything from running smoothly??

    i am completely lost on what to do now......
    i have a friend here that uses linux (of sorts) and has never come across a problem such as this.
    Any suggestions or help would be much appreciated!
    ASSUME I HAVE NO KNOWLEDGE OF LINUX!

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7

    My laptop spec

    Processor Type Intel Core 2 Duo T5550
    Processor speed 1.83
    Memory Size 3 GB
    Memory Type DDR 2
    Hard Drive Capacity 250 GB
    Optical Drives DVD-SuperMulti Dual Layer
    Graphics Card Type NVIDIA. GeForce 8400M GS
    Graphics Memory 256 dedicated upto 1023 MB

  3. #3
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,653
    1st thing; in any of the *buntu's you don't use su. Instead you would use sudo <command name>. And then you enter YOUR password when prompted. They don't enable root. Some people love that and some hate it.

    2nd thing; the network problem. Can you ping other machines on your network by name? by ip address?
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7

    My laptop spec

    Ping successful... meaning no problem on network card??

  6. #5
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,653
    That would imply that the card is working... can you ping http:// www .google . com? What about 216.239.59.147?
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7
    yes i can also ping google

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by RickDJ View Post
    yes i can also ping google
    but still nothing in the konqueror browser

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7
    Google contacted. waiting for reply...
    (after 10mins nothing has changed)

  10. #9
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,653
    The fact that you can ping Google using the domain name says that you have a connection and that name resolution is working. As indeed does the "contacted. waiting for reply message..." message.

    I don't know anything about Suse Linux but I am wondering if there is a firewall getting in the way of the returning data. You may get more appropriate help by posting this in the Suse forum here at Linux Forums

    [edit]Ah. This was in the lounge. I guess you will get good help here too. I Still think it could be firewall related though![/url]
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    7
    thanx elija

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •