Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello Im a 18y old student that recently managed to destroy his home-computer (windows) and have now ordered and laptop. The problem i have is choosing a Linux distro. Everybody ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Student needs help:confused:

Hello
    Im a 18y old student that recently managed to destroy his home-computer (windows) and have now ordered and laptop.
    The problem i have is choosing a Linux distro. Everybody seems to recommend differnt distros and say its a matter of "personal choice" etc.. My problem is i just need a system that fits my needs:
    Stability, School work(office of a kind? writing, presentation etc), wireless connection, downloads, music, moviewatching and able to do many things at once without lag etc.. And still not be to advanced for me to learn and figure out since ive never ever had linux before.

so im looking for: stability, simplicity? userfriendly, nice look? and would prefer some power if possible(effective atleast

So if any distros comes to youre mind while reading this please let me know.. and why you would recommend that one for me! THANKS

My computer if relevant
    15,4" Widescreen WSXGA+ 1680x1050 blank skjerm (glare)
    NVIDIAŽ GeForceŽ 9600M GT skjermkort 512MB
    INTEL CORE 2 DUO P8600 2.4GHZ 1066MHz FSB 3MB cache 25W
    200GB SATA 7200RPM 2.5" [+
    4GB DDR2 SO-Dimm 800Mhz

Also a question does all the systems download al the drivers itself? Since that would also be preferable!

And seriously, if anyone takes the time to help me! Thank you very, very much!

"Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler."

Quote Originally Posted by widding View Post
    Hello
    Im a 18y old student that recently managed to destroy his home-computer (windows) and have now ordered and laptop.