Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello Cyber-people, This may be a very irritating rather usual question asked by some linux newbie... I am using Acer Aspire 5310. Intel celeron M processor 530, Intel Graphics Media ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Exclamation Advice for linux distribution

Hello Cyber-people,

This may be a very irritating rather usual question asked by some linux newbie...
    I am using Acer Aspire 5310.
    Intel celeron M processor 530,
    Intel Graphics Media accelerator 950,
    512 MB DDR2
    802.11b/g WLAN (AR5007* atheros wifi)

I had been using yum based fedora and then switched over to Ubuntu and then back to Fedora beta (9.93 - 10) and used Ubuntu both H.Heron and I.Ibex..
    I am a developer (application and web)
    so my basic necessity is:
    PHP, MYSQL, APACHE, NETBEANS, ECLIPSE, and........... youtube
    in my hardware I am happy if sound, display and wifi works, i dont care for 56kmodem and etc...

Can anyone suggest me a distribution that I can stick around with? While working with Fedora 9.93 I had no issues at all but after turning to F10, my screen started going all white, flickering, etc.. maybe my lappy did not like updates...
    and ubuntu Hardy heron would do the same, whn I tried playing with compiz my Intrepid Ibex threw my screen and all white out... I had to use DSL to recover my data... Can anyone suggest (not the best for all but best for my laptop) a distribution (GNOME based)..

Thanks and Regards

darkblue

Just Joined!
    Sounds like it might be the graphics driver, in that case you will have the same issue no matter what distribution you use. Since you had no issues with earlier FC9 and Ubuntu installations, there must exist some package or driver that is at the heart of you problem. I would suggest finding the problem first and then choosing a distribution second.