Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Hey there all, I'm pretty new to linux and such but am keen to get into it I picked up an AAO 150 today and want to throw XP on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Jvr
    Just Joined!

Dual booting limpus AAO?

Hey there all,
    I'm pretty new to linux and such but am keen to get into it
    I picked up an AAO 150 today and want to throw XP on there for university reasons, but dont want to kill off the limpus OS on there already.
    So from the days when I played with dual booting I found XP was never something to install as a secondary OS but I have heard this issue may have been addressed.

Through mucho's googleage I read that limpus doesnt recognise linux grub which is a little dis-heartening because if i remember correctly then this means theres very little chance of dual booting whilst keeping the limpus OS on there
    BUT
    Tabbing on boot does bring up a Grub menu so I'm not sure what thats about.

I know this is a little specilised but it would be great just to hear some points of view on the situation. I think I'm going to sort Knoppix on USB for now to get by until I can get XP or until I abandon the idea all together and lose the linpus...

Any thoughts would be much appreciated

Best regards

-Chris Jvr

Hi and Welcome !

Linpus uses GRUB Boot loader only but its hidden by default and thats not a problem. As you know already, Windows OS doesn't work fine if you install it after Linux.
    Is it possible for you to re-install Linpus. I mean, wipe harddisk ( or create a separate partition and dump data there ), install Windows OS first and then Linpus.
    Linpus installer will detect Windows OS and setup dual boot itself.