Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello people I am a noob when it comes to linux. I recently installed kubuntu on my dell laptop. I was able to do it succesfully. I didnt have any ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy Help Needed Plz !!!!

Hello people
    I am a noob when it comes to linux. I recently installed kubuntu on my dell laptop.
    I was able to do it succesfully. I didnt have any problems untill today. I went into the display settings and changed something ( i am not sure exactly what i did .
    After that, my desktop is blank. All i can see is my mouse cursor. I cant see anything else. Its like a black screen with a mouse cursor on it. I can move the mouse cursor and all. Everything else is perfect.I mean, i can press ctrl+alt+ Del and log out or shut down( well i cant see the menu but i kinda have an idea where the logout and shutdown buttons are on the menu)
    Everything else seems to be working . I mean, i know that when i go to the bottom left and click, a menu is coming up and all ( as the cursor then changes) its just that i cant see it happening. THere is no problem when i boot the system. THe desktop is perfect even at the username and password enter screen. Its after i log in that the desktop goes black. I am wondering is there anyway i can go back to my previous settings. At the moment i cant see anything on the screen. Like i said, i am a noob in linux. So any help would be greatly
    appreciated !!

Thanks a million in advance
    Cheerz
    Jez

Did you install proprietary drivers for your graphics card? what kind of graphics do you have?.
    I don't have Kubuntu, but I do have Mandriva 2009 which has KDE4, and I had this happen a couple times also, pretty sure it was in Mandriva (got many distros).
    But haven't seen it in a while,