Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
hi all just registered so i am a newbie stuck pulling my hair out and getting old v quickly so i am hoping someone can help me.i am trying to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

install software

hi all just registered so i am a newbie

stuck pulling my hair out and getting old v quickly so i am hoping someone can help me.i am trying to install programs on a cnm minibook running linux i have tried may times to install a tar.gz file but oh my i am going wrong somewhere .do i need to install from the root window or what?i am so confused.....i am an experienced windows user but i know i have to put all that to the back of my head and start a fresh i just need an idiot proof guide as once i have done it once i am sure i will be able to do it again..i have read so many guides even the one here but im lost

thanks in advance

john

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

You can check this HowTo for installing software under Linux:

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/lin...are-linux.html

It's generally best to use the default package tool for your particular distribution whenever possible. Otherwise, the aboe HowTo should get you going.
    oz

Howdy jpbroad1970, Keep the hair and state what distro and version of distro you are using . Also what program you are trying to install. That way some of us members can tell you if you can get it through your distros package manager like Ozar advised.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

Just Joined!
    how do i find what distro i am using it just says V70 on the boot screen im just bamboozled

Just Joined!
    i got out the root uname 2.4.20-celfs

Just Joined!
    the program i am trying to install is dans guardian

oz
    forum.guy