Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
im a complete noob when it comes to linux. im buying a new hp laptop and want to have dual OS's. which distro is best for this?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

dual os laptop (distro?)

im a complete noob when it comes to linux. im buying a new hp laptop and want to have dual OS's. which distro is best for this?

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

Unfortunately, there really isn't a best because different users like different things in a Linux distribution. I'd recommend trying any of the top five distros at DistroWatch.com to begin with. If you find yourself not liking something about what you try first, move on to another one in the top five. All of them are fully capable of working in a dual boot system.

Check the link in my signature for lots of good information on getting started with Linux. You'll find a couple of quizzes there that might help you to pick your first distribution, as well.

Hope you will enjoy running Linux!
    oz

Just Joined!
    The problem I have is I haven't bought a laptop yet because l'm trying to decide on specs because I've read a couple manuals on install linux as a second OS and all of them go into great detail on making sure for proper space for the three partitons I'll need to create.

Any general amount of hd space I should be aiming for, and any other min specs I should aiming for?

By the way, thanks for the advice, noobs like me would be lost without it.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by jaeger View Post
    Any general amount of hd space I should be aiming for, and any other min specs I should aiming for?
    20 GB should be more than enough HD space for Linux, and any laptop with specs high enough to run WinXP should be fine for Linux as well.
    oz

Just Joined!