Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I'm new to Linux so these may be very stupid questions. Just go easy on me ok? I've used Windows for many years but am very annoyed by it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Red face Linux Installation and Password problems!

Hi, I'm new to Linux so these may be very stupid questions. Just go easy on me ok? I've used Windows for many years but am very annoyed by it so want to get into the Linux world, but it's all a bit strange to me.

I currently have three issues:

1. How do you install new software? I am used to downloading a windows executable (.exe file) and simply running it. When I try to download Adobe Flashplayer to my wife's Acer One (running Linpus Linux Lite v1.0.21.E) it asks me to choose from a range of different file types including YUM etc (I should have written them down I know!). Is it easy to tell which one to use? I also have a desktop on which I have installed OpenSUSE - which file type would I use for that?

2. Once I've got the right file name, do I use the downloader with Linux? How do I then install? I seem to have several files in there, but I can't easily see how to get them installed and running? (Told you there would be stupid questions!)

3. I keep being asked for a password to run software (on my wife's Acer One) but I don't remember setting one and the OS was pre-installed when we bought the netbook. Is there a default password or a way of cracking / resetting it?

Many thanks in advance for your help! Looking forward to being able to ditch all Micros**t products in the near future!

Hello. In linux, you almost always install software through packages pre-compiled for your particular distribution. These are roughly akin to .exe files in Windows. Each distro has some sort of package management software. In opensuse, you use Yast, or from the command line, zypper.