Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I installed Mandrake 9 not to long ago. I installed it using a mouse and now I can't use touchpad. Anyone know how to fix this problem???...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    7

    Can't use touchpad on my laptop???


    I installed Mandrake 9 not to long ago. I installed it using a mouse and now I can't use touchpad. Anyone know how to fix this problem???

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    826
    you're going to have to reconfigure X probably. login as root and type xf86cfg -textmode to configure it. choose the mouse that best fits. it may not list "touchpad" but you can just try "Auto" or "PS/2" and it should work.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    7
    Anyway that I can get both to work?

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer Giro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,219
    Its more then likely a synaptics pad so heres the results I got

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    3
    if you use Touchpad, here is the way to go:

    http://w1.894.telia.com/~u89404340/touchpad/

    what kernel do you use? under 2.4.x it works like a regular PS/2 mouse. it's a lil bit more complicated on 2.6.x but the site has a really nice guide.

    is your other Mouse USB or PS/2?

    good luck & post back.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    53
    I am using a builtin touchpad and a logitech duo lx700 (wireless keyboard and mouse combo) and all I had to do was make two seperate entries in my XF86Config file (and xorg.conf when I upgraded).

  7. #7
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    even if it is not a synaptics touchpad the synaptics synclient seams to work just fine with cirque tp's and a few others that i have here
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  8. #8
    Flo
    Flo is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    9
    Hi,

    check the /etc/X11/xorg.conf or something similar depending on your XFree86. Have a look, it should have two sections, one refering to your mouse and one for your touchpad, If it does not have both you will have to write them

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Synaptics"
    Driver "synaptics"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
    EndSection
    Good Luck
    Florian

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •