Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Hi Community I have a toshiba A505 and i cant installing linux because forever have problems: with ubuntu 9.10, the usb ports dont work and low resolution of screen. wiht ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy problems with toshiba A505 S6005


    Hi Community

    I have a toshiba A505 and i cant installing linux because forever have problems:

    with ubuntu 9.10, the usb ports dont work and low resolution of screen.
    wiht mandriva 2010, dont start!
    with ubuntu 10.04 beta 1, there is problem with the screen.

    the specifications of the laptop are: intel core i3, Ram: 4Gb, HD: 500Gb

    Please i need help.

    truly

    Schwarz

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Big River, Sask, Canada
    Posts
    342
    could you please post the output of
    Code:
    lspci
    so we can see what hardware you have.
    Registered Linux User #420832

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Red face output of: lspci

    Hi thanks for answer.
    The output is:
    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Arrandale DRAM Controller (rev 02)
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Arrandale Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
    00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset HECI Controller (rev 06)
    00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller (rev 05)
    00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 05)
    00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 1 (rev 05)
    00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 2 (rev 05)
    00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 4 (rev 05)
    00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset PCI Express Root Port 5 (rev 05)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset USB2 Enhanced Host Controller (rev 05)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev a5)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 5 Series Chipset LPC Interface Controller (rev 05)
    00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset 4 port SATA AHCI Controller (rev 05)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset SMBus Controller (rev 05)
    00:1f.6 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset Thermal Subsystem (rev 05)
    01:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 02)
    02:00.0 Network controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. Device 8172 (rev 10)
    03:00.0 SD Host controller: Ricoh Co Ltd Device e822 (rev 01)
    03:00.1 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd Device e230 (rev 01)
    03:00.2 System peripheral: Ricoh Co Ltd Device e852 (rev 01)
    3f:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation QuickPath Architecture Generic Non-core Registers (rev 02)
    3f:00.1 Host bridge: Intel Corporation QuickPath Architecture System Address Decoder (rev 02)
    3f:02.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation QPI Link 0 (rev 02)
    3f:02.1 Host bridge: Intel Corporation QPI Physical 0 (rev 02)
    3f:02.2 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Device 2d12 (rev 02)
    3f:02.3 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Device 2d13 (rev 02)


    please, help me.

    thank you so much.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Everything seems fine in the Ubuntu 10.04 beta but the screen resolution? That can probably be fixed. Or do you mean something else by "problem with screen"? (Also the beta 2 is now out and maybe that has corrected the problem...)

    The arrandale intel card was not supported in Ubuntu 9.10 (and presumably some other distros contemporary with 9.10), but should have support in 10.04.

    Using the Intel Arrandale (Intel Graphics Media Accelerator HD) with Ubuntu 9.10 [Linux Wiki Guides]

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3

    Thanks

    Hi Reed9.

    Thanks for you answer. The problem with the screen in ubuntu 10.04 beta 1 is that the screen brightness is not. From the start ubuntu report the problem.


    I will wait the official version 10.04.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Rubberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Posts
    11,737
    Have you tried Ubuntu 9.04 instead? There is a fatal memory leak in the standard video driver with the beta 10.04 release that is being fixed/tested now in order to be ready for the official 10.04 release. FWIW, 9.10 should be fine, but you might need to get a proprietary video driver for this machine, which would be the case also for 9.04 I think. What video chip set is it using? Is it nVidia, Intel, or what?
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •