Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
It's been about an hour and I'm ready to throw my computer against a wall. I'm running knoppix off a cd and am becoming enraged by the tap to click ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Help me kill tap-to-click before my laptop

It's been about an hour and I'm ready to throw my computer against a wall. I'm running knoppix off a cd and am becoming enraged by the tap to click on my Compaq nc6000 laptop. xorg.conf doesn't exist in my X11 folder (and I can't save those files anyways), and the mouse settings are very basic.

I'm a huge linux noob, so I generally need to be walked through everything...

Thank you in advance : )

Welcome to LinuxForums!

Could you clarify a little for us?
    Are you having trouble enabling tap to click, or disabling?

That setting should be somewhere in a Preferences menu... either Mouse Preferences or perhaps Trackpad Preferences.

As far as saving your settings... you're correct. Since you're running off of a LiveCD, you'll need to make this adjustment for every session after startup.
    Jay

New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Just Joined!
    I'm trying to disable the sucker, it is enabled by default.
    Many settings will claim that a restart of KDE is needed to save them. The mouse settings have no options for the trackpad, and I can't find trackpad settings either.

I haven't played with Knoppix in a bit.
    Let me dig out a disc and I'll see if I can find anything different.

What version are you running?
    And do you have the CD version? Or the DVD?
    Jay

New Member FAQ
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

Just Joined!