Find the answer to your Linux question:
Thanks for any help, I am a newbie and not familiar with command line entries, so need advice. I installed Goblinx, otherwise known as G:standard, on a legacy laptop. At ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

[SOLVED] G:standard isn't installing lilo properly

Thanks for any help, I am a newbie and not familiar with command line entries, so need advice. I installed Goblinx, otherwise known as G:standard, on a legacy laptop. At the end of the install it says it needs to install lilo to the mbr. I clicked the simple install (the buttoned option for a standalone install), and it seemed to install. My problem is that now when I turn on the computer it starts ISOLINUX, then Intel landesk etc, and stops at GRUB and a blinking cursor.

The forum site for goblin has been moved and renamed, and doesn't appear functional yet. I registered but it wouldn't let me post and only had the welcome messages posted on it.

It will boot from the live CD, but is very slow.

Linux Guru
    Never heard of GoblinX but their web site indicates it is based on Slackware which is probably why it is installing Lilo bootloader instead of Grub. How old is your legacy laptop and what are hardware specs, (processor speed, RAM,etc). If you are getting Grub then some other Linux must have been on the computer. Obviously, Lilo didn't install to the mbr or this would not be happening. Haven't used Lilo for 6-7 years but I'm sure someone will come along who knows how to reinstall it.