Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I cannot remove this icon, nor access the internet. I assume this to be some form of malware? I have CCleaner and other malware tools on a usb stick, but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

star shaped icon has appeared on acer netbook desktop

I cannot remove this icon, nor access the internet. I assume this to be some form of malware? I have CCleaner and other malware tools on a usb stick, but when I insert it and navigate to the folder containing the software the programme icons are replaced by the same star symbol and I cannot access the software to run it. The OS is some variant of Linux, I don't know which though. Can anyone advise how to get to the Linux equivalent of safe mode, or better still, what this is and how to remove it? As you have probably gathered, I am new to Linux, so would appreciate any help that can be offered. Thanks in advance.

Sounds like the panel is screwed up. The Aspire One uses Linpus Lite by default, which in turn uses a modified XFCE dekstop environment.

This is a somewhat common problem if the configuration files get corrupted. I believe you can get to a terminal by hitting ALT+F2 to open a run window, then type"terminal" (no quotes).

From there, do
    Code:
    rm -r ~/.config/xfce*
    Restart or log out and back in and that should reset the desktop to the default settings.

Just Joined!
    Thanks for the reply - I have tried to follow the advice, but I get a message saying '[user@localhost ~}$

When I reset and clear this info and try to type anything in to this window I am unable to save the modified text? Am I doing something wrong? Sorry to be ignorant, but I know nothing at all about Linux!

The model is an acer aspire one, model no. ZG5 if this helps.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    I'm having a hard time visualizing what you mean by "unable to save the modified text".

This bit
    Code: