Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
I cant get it to work. Has anybody managed to?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2

    BT voyager 1060 wireless adapter and SUSE 9.2


    I cant get it to work.
    Has anybody managed to?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Can you give more information, like is it PCI, usb, PC card adapter?
    Waht have you tried so far?

    dylunio
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2
    It is a pcmcia card in a Sony Vaio laptop.
    I tried using Yast and configuring the card as 'other not specified' but this did not work.
    The LED lights on the card also look very dim when I boot up Linux compared to when it functions under xp.
    Ta

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2

    Voyager 1060

    Have you tried driverloader?I managed to get it started but not able to completely configure with my router

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2
    Used driverloader and it works on Mandrake 10.1on laptop-- BT voyager 1060 and can be configured throught the mandrake linux control center. Good luck

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation Me neither

    Quote Originally Posted by geoffDeGeoffGeoff
    I cant get it to work.
    Has anybody managed to?
    I cant get it to work it to work either

    my adapter lights are really really weak too compared to windows xp

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    6

    Exclamation i have the same problem as geoffDeGeoffGeoff

    Quote Originally Posted by dylunio
    Can you give more information, like is it PCI, usb, PC card adapter?
    Waht have you tried so far?

    dylunio
    My 1 is a pci card

    i have tried yast but nothing comes up
    Im new to suse linux as i used to have windows xp and it worked fine
    the software that came with the network card is only for windows. so im stuck there.

  8. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    6,110
    I believe this card hass an Atheros chipset. This means you have two choices - install the MadWifi packages which will provide a semi-offical native driver, or use ndiswrapper. I have three Atheros based cards and I have to say after years of swearing by MadWifi I find ndiswrapper much easier. If you don't mind using the command line it will take you all of sixty seconds.

    Code:
    su -
    ndiswrapper -i /path/to/driver/file.ini
    ndiswrapper -m
    You can then configure it using YaST as a normal network card. If it works you can then go about having the kernel module probed at boot - try this Sysconfig Ndiswrapper

    If you are having problems though I would recommend upgrading to at least SuSE 9.3, but if you can wait a week or two 10.1 will be available. I don't think a lot of the wireless packages were available in 9.2.
    Last edited by bigtomrodney; 07-31-2007 at 07:34 AM.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    6

    how do u gwt to the command line

    Quote Originally Posted by bigtomrodney
    I believe this card hass an Atheros chipset. This means you have two choices - install the MadWifi packages which will provide a semi-offical native driver, or use ndiswrapper. I have three Atheros based cards and I have to say after years of swearing by MadWifi I find ndiswrapper much easier. If you don't mind using the command line it will take you all of sixty seconds.

    Code:
    su -
    ndiswrapper -i /path/to/driver/file.ini
    ndiswrapper -m
    You can then configure it using YaST as a normal network card. If it works you can then go about having the kernel module probed at boot - try this [url=http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/mediawiki/index.php/Suse_Professional_9.x#Making_sure_it_works_on_boot]Sysconfig Ndiswrapper[/code]

    If you are having problems though I would recommend upgrading to at least SuSE 9.3, but if you can wait a week or two 10.1 will be available. I don't think a lot of the wireless packages were available in 9.2.
    how do u actually get to the command line???

  10. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    6,110
    You can just use Konsole if you are in KDE, other terminals are xterm, gterm. You should find them under system > terminals on the K menu (with the suse lizard on it).

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •