Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok I am very new to Linux and since I had an old thinkpad 240x I thought why not check out Linux. Problem is this device will not boot to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Thinkpad 240x

Ok I am very new to Linux and since I had an old thinkpad 240x I thought why not check out Linux.

Problem is this device will not boot to anything except the hdd.

At the moment it runs windows ME dual with XP

I have tried Unetbootin to download/install Mint (and others) and the same to run a downloaded iso everything seems to go well but when I restart all I get is the same old windows boot manager showing XP or ME.

I have heard of things like grub and plop but have NO idea at all how to run them or use them

Ultimately I would like to install a ported version of Android

If anybody has ANY ideas please help, my hair has been well and truly pulled out.

Richard Smith

Are these the specs?

at 64MB of ram. You should think of upgrading the ram to the max first.

Right now I think you're only option is Tiny Core Linux for 64MB of ram.

What are the minimum requirements?

An absolute minimum of RAM is 46mb. TC won't boot with anything less, no matter how many terabytes of swap you have.
    Microcore runs with 28mb of ram.
    The minimum cpu is i486DX (486 with a math processor).

A recommended configuration:
    Pentium 2 or better, 128mb of ram + some swap
    So in next post. Tell us what your ram, cpu, whether it has a cd drive and floppy drive, hardrive size.

My oldest working get on the net laptop is a IBM A22M. It runs Antix
    well using a Belkin F5D 7010 .ver 6 pcmcia wireless card. I can boot usb on it also though the bios does not support it via a PLOP floppy I made also.

You tube videos that I want to watch need to be downloaded though and watched in a application video player like gxine or gnome-mplayer.