Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I have done the following trying to make it work but no luck: [root@localhost imdeemvp]# urpmi acpi acpid Everything already installed [root@localhost imdeemvp]# acpi start No ACPI support in kernel, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie imdeemvp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    225

    ACPI problems with mdk 10.1


    I have done the following trying to make it work but no luck:

    [root@localhost imdeemvp]# urpmi acpi acpid
    Everything already installed
    [root@localhost imdeemvp]# acpi start
    No ACPI support in kernel, or incorrect acpi_path ("/proc/acpi").
    [root@localhost imdeemvp]# /etc/init.d/acpi start

    I RAN THIS:
    [root@localhost imdeemvp]# dmesg
    NET: Registered protocol family 10
    Disabled Privacy Extensions on device c0322b60(lo)
    IPv6 over IPv4 tunneling driver
    powernow-k7: Unknown symbol acpi_processor_unregister_performance
    powernow-k7: Unknown symbol acpi_processor_register_performance
    eth0: no IPv6 routers present
    cdrom: This disc doesn't have any tracks I recognize!
    Shorewall:net2allROP:IN=ppp0 OUT= MAC= SRC=68.115.111.102 DST=68.121.21.164 LEN=48 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=106 ID=54476 DF PROTO=TCP SPT=3887 DPT=1433 WINDOW=64512 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0
    Shorewall:net2allROP:IN=ppp0 OUT= MAC= SRC=68.115.111.102 DST=68.121.21.164 LEN=48 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=106 ID=54941 DF PROTO=TCP SPT=3887 DPT=1433 WINDOW=64512 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0
    SCSI subsystem initialized
    CAN ANY ONE HELP??? btw fc2 worked fine in same laptop. thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Enthusiast puntmuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Republic Banana
    Posts
    562
    Does your kernel support ACPI at all ? Try loading some ACPI modules before starting the acpid.
    I\'m so tired .....
    #200472

  3. #3
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,132
    First thing to do is go to LILO configuration in the MCC, and go through the entries chcking the box enable acpi , or at least the one you want to try. Reboot and you should be good then. This one got me for ages!!

    Also you can then configure the APM service to not come up on boot, as you will be relying on acpi and acpid services.

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie imdeemvp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    225
    I tried everything in the book to make it work and never did so I gave and a replaced with fc3 which works fine on my laptop.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ely, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1

    Re: ACPI problems with mdk 10.1

    I am having the exact same difficulty. I did urpmi acpi acpid and it installed all the ACPI support thingies. I enabled ACPI in my bootloader (LILO with text) and set everything going.

    When the machine goes to turn off, I get a general protection fault fef8 [#1] and the machine goes totally awol. It says I have a Bad EIP value.

    I disabled ACPI, turned it off in the bootloader and tried APMD, still to no avail. The same thing happened. General Prot. Fault, Bad EIP.

    The strange thing is, APM is turned on in my BIOS, and everything else looks totally normal. I am an ex windows XP user and PC Windows Engineer, but as for Linux, I know squat diddly, minus a bit more.

    If anyone can help me sort this lump of *bleep* out before I junk it and go back to windows, please do. I like Linux and would like to get the machine working properly. But if I have to resort back to XP Pro, so be it!

    In short... Help...!

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie imdeemvp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    225
    I solved it..... I solved it......... I solved it ...... installed FEDORA 3

  7. #7
    Linux Newbie RobNyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    NYC, USA
    Posts
    139
    acpi=ht always worked for me

    so put that in your boot/lilo.conf

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •