Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

emachines e442 with around 40 gigs missing

so a dude i know came by with an emachines laptop he wanted me to fix. it starts up slower than god damn and theres about 3000 programs showing up at startup. some .bat files and spamware, i have no idea. i'm currently reformatting with win7 (he doesnt know linux), but i will install a linux distro on the side. there also seems to be around 40 GB missing. is there someone f'ing with the partitions or am i just seeing wrong?

i need to use some kind of live cd or temporarily install some rescue distro.. i have never used gparted live or system rescue cd (or gentoo which SRCD seems to be based on.) is there any difference between using these and/or just using debian for the same task?

also, which distro do you reccomend to dual boot for a total newb who doesnt really speak english, only arabic and a little norwegian? i need this dude to become a little familiar with linux (or just computers in general) so he doesnt need to come here every month.

my honor as a technician depends on this.

That's the trouble with "gigs". There are gigabytes - GB (power of ten), and gibibytes - GiB (power of two). Thus, 100 GB != 100 GiB. Details here. As long as you use "gigs" you will always be confused.
    Anyhow,
    Code:
    fdisk -l
    will print the partitions layout. Linux has no GUI, so it does not make any difference whether you run it from Gentoo, Debian or whatnot. There are several GUI's that run on top of Linux, but they are not suitable for troubleshooting as they obfuscate readouts and are difficult to use and interpret compared to command line tools.
    BTW, what happened to your keyboard? You better fix that Shift key, otherwise your posts look terribly illiterate.

Quote Originally Posted by Segfault View Post