Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hey there. I am new to the open source world, and to the Linux world as well. So, I need some help. I have a Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo M laptop, with ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Modem

Hey there. I am new to the open source world, and to the Linux world as well. So, I need some help. I have a Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo M laptop, with a Smart Link 56K modem which is connected to COM3 (this info comes from Windows XP Pro). I tried configuring the modem from linux ( I have Knoppix 3.7 installed), but without any success. So, I googled it, and I found a module for my modem for linux from the official site of the modem. I downloaded it, I follow the instructions, but it doesn't seem to work... What can I do?

please help me if you have anything related to this. If you need any more specs of my lap, I will be happy to send them to you.

- ardeth

How does it not work? Does it give you any error messages? Is it a win-modem etc?

Just Joined!
    [sorry for my being late, but school homework and studying for tests took me longer than I expected... :P ]

Well, I downloaded the modules (on a tar file), I un-tarred the file, and then I did everything the instructions told me to do. I read the 'read-me' file, and I changed the kernel target to my kernel. Then, I entered as root, changed to that directory and run the 'make' command, and then the 'makeinstall' or 'make install' command (don't reminisce the exact command), and then the instructions told me to run 'slmodemd' or something like it, but when I did it nothing came up. Only the usual 'bad command' or stuff error messages.

This means that I cannot connect to the internet though Linux, and I have to use damn Windoze to write these kind of posts... :P

I am looking forward to seeing your reply,

-ardeth

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    I'm not sure, but Knopix based on Debian.