Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I am relatively new to linux but in the time I've spent trying to get this wireless card to work, I find that I will be comfortable with anything ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

atheros wireless card problems, madwifi seems fine

Hi, I am relatively new to linux but in the time I've spent trying to get this wireless card to work, I find that I will be comfortable with anything you guys might throw at me which might be helpful.

First off, I'm currently using mandrake 10.1 with the 2.6.8.1-12smp kernel. I have successfully compiled and installed one of the latest CVS from madwifi and my wireless device is recognized correctly as ath0.

iwconfig shows all the correct information pertaining to my card, yet with a link quality of 0/100

i created ifcfg-ath0 with this

STARTMODE=hotplug
    DEVICE=ath0
    BOOTPROTO=dhcp
    NETMASK=255.255.255.0
    ONBOOT=yes
    WIRELESS=yes
    WIRELESS_MODE=Managed
    WIRELESS_ESSID=home
    #WIRELESS_ENC_KEY=""
    MII_NOT_SUPPORTED=no
    WIRELESS_IWPRIV="mode 3"

the system boots and tries to receive an ip, but i suppose it times out after about a minute and fails

i do ifdown on eth0 and lo
    also ifdown then ifup on ath0 but it times out with trying to get an ip lease

iwpriv ath0 scan yields "no scan results"

i've tried setting a static ip and manually putting in my router's ip and MAC address, but that does not work either

i have tried ndiswrapper with very similar results.

the strange thing is that i have a boot cd with a live linux version on it called INSERT based on Knoppix which i sometimes use for recovering files after windows crashes. it instantly recognizes my card and im on the network in no time. however, im looking to use linux as part of a dual boot with windows XP, not running from a live cd.