Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi, I'm new to Linux Forums, but have tried to search the archives as thoroughly as possible. I was unable to come up with anything on the new Dell Inspiron ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux problems on Dell Inspiron 9300

Hi, I'm new to Linux Forums, but have tried to search the archives as thoroughly as possible. I was unable to come up with anything on the new Dell Inspiron 9300.

I've been having a real headache trying to get Fedora 3 installed on it. Originally I tried to dual-boot it with Windows XP, but after that failed, I decided to eliminate some variables and wipe the entire drive clean and start over.

I followed all the default options for a workstation installation, but after it finishes, the first boot is awfully slow (like 10 minutes) and it seems to stall at a number of places. If I boot to X, it freezes on a gray screen after the graphical startup sequence. If I boot to runlevel 3, I can at least login, and then start the X server, but it runs uncharacteristically slow. And this on the latest laptop out there. Once it finally gets in to the GUI, I have slow response time (1 minute to open a terminal window). When I try to shutdown, I get an error message about the ethernet card scrolling endlessly down the screen until I finally turn it off manually.

Has anyone else seen anything like this? Any ideas what the problem could be? Is the hardware too new for the last Fedora 3 distro? Are the 915 chipset or the fast RAM or the video card not yet supported? Are there other distros that people have tested and have worked (I don't want a distro war, just something that will work).

Here's the specs on the laptop:
    Pentium M 760 2Ghz / 533Mhz
    2.0 GM DDR2 533 Mhz RAM
    17" UXGA Widescreen Display w/ Trulife
    256 MB NVIDA GeForce Go 6800
    100 GB Hard Drive
    8x DVD/CD RW