Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
Ok, i've been trying to figure this out for a couple of days now, i have to give up and ask for help. First where is are the files (likely ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    612

    Wireless card or NIC not working?!?


    Ok, i've been trying to figure this out for a couple of days now, i have to give up and ask for help.

    First where is are the files (likely /etc/*) where i can change options and settings and everything for my network card and wireless card, i'd assume they'd be in the same file. eth0, eth1, eth2 and on i'm guessing is what i'll have to configure.

    My Network Card is Reltek RTL8169/8110 Family Gigabit Ethernet NIC
    My Wireless Card seems to be a little bit more rare, it's an O2Micro OZ711M1 MemoryCardBus Controller.

    Even with the correct driver that Fedora 3 has for my NIC it does not work. It does but it cannot find the IP. When i do this it cannot connect at all. i'm attempting to from a router that the modem is hooked up too. Even when i hook up directly to the modem with an RJ45 it still does not work.

    i would really appreciate any help i can get, i don't want to have to rely on Windows to go on the internet. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Are you using DHCP?

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    612
    If that is default, then most likely i am.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Flatline's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,204
    The results from
    Code:
    ifconfig
    and
    Code:
    iwconfig
    would be helpful. You said your wireless card is rare, so
    Code:
    lspci
    might also be a good one to run so that we can take a look at the chipset.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

    - Jeremy S. Anderson

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    612

    Printouts....

    Here are the printouts from the terminal:

    Code:
    ifconfig:
    
    lo      Link encam: Local Loopback
             inet addr: 127.0.0.1 Mask 255.0.0.0
             inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope: Host
             UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU: 16436 Metric: 1
             RX packets: 5091 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frames:0
             TX packets: 5091 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carried:0
             collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
             RX bytes: 6362438 (6.0 MiB) TX bytes: 6362438 (6.0 MiB)
    Code:
    iwconfig:
    
    lo      no wireless extensions.
    
    eth0  no wireless extensions.
    
    sit0   no wireless extensions.
    Since lspci printed out so much and i don't think all of it is relevant i will only print the devices that are associated with networking and devices that i don't recagnize. If i need to type more information let me know.
    Code:
    lspci:
    
    00:00.0 Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS 645xx (rev 51)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] Unknown device 0003
    00:02.0 ISA bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS963 [MuTIOL Media IO] (rev 12)
    00:02.1 SMBus: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS961/2 SMBus Controller
    00:02.3 FireWire (IEEE 1394) ..... don't need
    00:02.5 IDE interface: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] AC'97 Modem Controller (rev a0)
    00:02.7 Multimedia audio controller: ...... don't need
    00:03.0 USB Controller... don't need
    00:03.1 USB Controller... don't need
    00:03.2 USB Controller... don't need
    00:03.3 USB Controller... don't need
    00:09.0 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711M1 SmartCardBus MultiMediaBay Controller (rev 20)
    00:09.1 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711M1 SmartCardBus MultiMediaBay Controller (rev 20)
    00:09.2 System peripheral: O2 Micro, Inc. OZ711Mx Multimedia Bay Accelerator
    00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. TRL-8169 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 10)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible conroller: nVidia... don't need
    02:00.0 Ethernet controller Atheros Communications, Inc. AR5212 802.11abg NIC (rev 01)
    i've only left out my USB ports my firewire port and my video and sound cards.

  7. #6
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    okay you have an Atheros Chipset on the wireless card? That might be a prism54 driver. What does ifconfig -a say?

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    612

    ifconfig -a printout...

    Here is the printout for ifconfig -a.

    Code:
    eth0   Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:03:0D:22:B7:29
       BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
       RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frames:0
       TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carried:0
       collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
       RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes 308 (308.0 b)
       Interrupt:10 Base address:0x6c00
    
    lo   Link encap: Local Loopback
         inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask: 255.0.0.0
         inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
         UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
         RX packets: 1815 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
         TX packets: 1815 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carried:0
         collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
         RX bytes:1600144 (1.5 MiB) TXS bytes:1600144 (1.5 MiB)
    
    sit0   Link encap:IPv6-in-IPv4
            NOARP MTU:1480 Metric:1
            RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frames:0
            TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carried:0
            collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
            RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes: 0 (0.0 b)

  9. #8
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    How many NICs do you have on that box?

  10. #9
    Linux Enthusiast flipjargendy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Xanadu, Titan, Saturn
    Posts
    612
    i've only had the one that's built with it. And i also have only had the one wireless card.

  11. #10
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Okay, then it has not been recognized by Linux. I'll look up the chipset later.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •