Find the answer to your Linux question:
hi, i'm new to linux and have been browsing for a Linux distribution that I can use on my old Acer Extensa 366D laptop. Is there any Linux distribution that ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

New Linux user with an old laptop

hi, i'm new to linux and have been browsing for a Linux distribution that I can use on my old Acer Extensa 366D laptop. Is there any Linux distribution that can fit on it ? It has 16 MB RAM, 2 GB harddisk and a pentium 166 Mhz processor. The laptop is still good but using Windows is slow, that's why I'm thinking of switching it to Linux.

Appreciate your feedback.

Thanx

Linux Newbie
    With the 16 meg of ram you are really tied down as to what you can run. You could try damn small linux. I have not yet tried it but that is the one that i am going to run on my laptop. It is even slower then yours. It has 40 meg ram pentium 75, and and 500 meg hdd.
    Desk TopAMD Semperon 3200+, MSI KT6V mobo, ATI Radeon 64mg DDR, 256 mg 3200, 40 gig HD
    LapTop Toshiba 105s. Pentium 75, 45 meg ram, 500 mg hdd.
    Server Compaq Proliant 166 mhz cpu. 168 meg ram, 2 x 4 gig hdd, 2 x 9 gig hdd

Linux Guru
    I think Damn Small will tell you that 16Mb is not enough. Check out Slackware version 8.1 and earlier. 8.1 uses the 2.4 kernel so it's not too far back. You can run a GUI (gotta have a GUI!) but stay away from Gnome and KDE: they're both too heavy. Tough thing with a lot of notebooks is getting the right drivers. I got an 8.1 CD from LinuxCD.org and they are still available.

edit:
    Slackware' 8.1 HOWTO:
    • Here's a basic list of what you'll need to install Slackware:

Sixteen megabytes (16MB) or more of RAM. If you have less than 16
      megabytes, we strongly suggest adding some additional RAM. If you have
      low RAM and booting the CD-ROM or boot floppies fails, you can try