Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi there, I have recently downloded fedora core and want to install it on my laptop, (im totally new to linux/fedora), now I tried using a cd with iso image ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installation issue

Hi there,

I have recently downloded fedora core and want to install it on my laptop,
    (im totally new to linux/fedora), now I tried using a cd with iso image and a cd with the files to begin install, during bootup the laptop looks into the cd but does not boot from it nor does my base unit.. could you guide please ? I have not made anychanges to the cd's and im trying to boot from the disk one of core.

many thanks

Pari

Did you burn the ISO files as disk images or just put the files on the disks? If you didn't burn them as disk images, they will not work.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

- Jeremy S. Anderson

Just Joined!
    hi and thanks for the quick reply ..
    I have tried both the ways, 1st burned the iso image and tried installing from that but it didnt work, extracted the files from the image and burned them on a disk tried using that .. no good.

any ideas ?

Did you check the MD5 sum of the image?
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

- Jeremy S. Anderson

And I'm still not quite clear on what you mean about how you burned the ISO file to the disk. If you created a data cd and put the ISO file on it, the cd will not work. You MUST burn the file as a cd image. What burning software did you use?

- Jeremy S. Anderson

Just Joined!
    Im also little unclear about what is to be done here, please allow me to elaborate.
    I have tried 2 ways -

1st
    I burned the iso image (the one file, as it is after downloading). that did not start the install.