Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi folks! I am very new to linux. I have SuSE 9.1 personal installed in my laptop: a Pentium 3 800 MHz DataPrince Xclusive. Linux works just fine and there ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Hard disk cries when shutting down my laptop

Hi folks!

I am very new to linux. I have SuSE 9.1 personal installed in my laptop: a Pentium 3 800 MHz DataPrince Xclusive. Linux works just fine and there is no major problems except this one: When selecting "Logout" and then "shutdown" SuSE shuts down the machine in a very hard way making the hard disc do an awful noise. The noise is similar to the one that happens when a sudden energy cutdown occurs. WinXP was much softer in this aspect, like shuting down smoothly and parking the hard disc appropriately. Well, I am afraid that something can go wrong with the hard disc in this way. Do you have a clue about this?

Thanks

Hernan

Just Joined!
    Could be an issue with HP's implementation of ACPI.

Could you take a look and see what "version" of ACPI your system conforms to?

This should be located in the documentation that came with the system, or on the HP website.

Due to my own personal experience with HP, odds are your system implements a non-standard ACPI implementation in order to make your life difficult if you try to tinker around with your system's OS.

If this is the case, you could modify your shutdown procedures to add a time delay between the point that it unmounts your HD and shutdown. I can go into this in more detail as I get more information.

Hi projectle, thanks for your answer !

Why you think that DataPrince has something to do with HP? DataPrince is a computer store here in Sweden. They put their brand into this machine and others, but I do not know which is the original hardware factory. I will send them an e-mail.