Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to linux. I want to buy a new Hard drive and install on it Linux only. Then with may actual Hard drive (on which I use Windows ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

install linux on a new Hard drive

I am new to linux.
    I want to buy a new Hard drive and install on it Linux only. Then with may actual Hard drive (on which I use Windows Me) I can choose which OS to use At the start up.
    Is this feasible?

My machine has the followng characteristics:
    - CPU Intel 800 Mhz
    - HD 10
    - OS Windows Me

Then, I mainly use scientific software. Which kind of linux is the most adapted (redhat, Debian,...)?

Thanks
    Moez

If you install the new hard drive and boot from the install CD, most distros will set up a dual-boot configuration automagically (in other words, leave your Windows drive in the machine). Always double-check the partition info before you let the installer do its thing, but it's usually not an issue you really have to deal with.

As far as scientific software...not sure exactly what you're looking for, but SuSE, Mandrake/Mandriva, Fedora, or a Debian-based distro would probably have the most packages available.
    There are two major products that come out of Berkeley: LSD and UNIX. We don't believe this to be a coincidence.

- Jeremy S. Anderson

Linux Newbie
    and if you must repartition the HD, the best bet is to install Linux FIRST and make your partitions w/ cfdisk (or what ever you use) and create a Fat32 partition for the Win install. Once you write that to the table, you can install linux and then install Win whatever you want on that part, and provided you have the bootloader set up correctly...dualboot at will.

Just Joined!