Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hi, I recently bought a dell inspiron 700m and i was wondering which linux distro will be more likely to work or if anyone has gotten Suse 9.2 or FDC3/4 ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    52

    Best distro for inspiron 700m?


    Hi, I recently bought a dell inspiron 700m and i was wondering which linux distro will be more likely to work or if anyone has gotten Suse 9.2 or FDC3/4 working with this laptop?
    Is the video card , wireless card and monitor supported? any suggestion as to what distro will be better is really appreciated. Also i tried running suse 9.2 on it but my monitor was only able to work at 860X460 i think so if anyone has any idea on how to fix this issue please tell me I really like suse better than FDC and would like to keep using it.
    thanks!!!

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie jamey112's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    212
    well i have a 600m and i use suse 9.2
    Today I fell and felt better, Just knowing this matters, I just feel stronger and SHARPER!!!, Found a box of sharp objects, What a beautiful THING!!! Box of Sharp Objects - The Used

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    52
    Did you have any issues with the resolution? and if any what drivers did u use or what did you do to fix it? so far the only thing i didnt like of suse on my laptop was the resolution and the wireless networking but i found out how to fix the wireless card with the ipw driver. thanks again!!!

  4. #4
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    I had a similar problem with Suse 9.1 and 9.2 with the resolution. I downloaded 855wrap (http://www.chzsoft.com.ar/855patch.html), compiled it and ran it as root. I then ran Sax and choose the 1024x768 laptop flat panel under Dell in monitor selection and then I saved it. Next time I started X; perfect 1024x768 resolution. I don't know if that will work for you because it doesn't list your model but it doesn't list mine either (I have an Inspiron 1150 but it has Inspiron 1100 listed).

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  5. #5
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    what ever distro you want will work it just depends how mech yo want to pt into it
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •