Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi everyone and thanks for any help. I'm new to this linux malarky and have just bought a new laptop which I'd like to put both windows and linux on. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Which distribution is best for me? Athlon 64 3200+ 128MB ATI RADEON® XPRESS 200M w/Hypermemor

Hi everyone and thanks for any help.

I'm new to this linux malarky and have just bought a new laptop which I'd like to put both windows and linux on.

I'm good enough with windows but a complete newbie with linux (I need linux for a couple of specific programs I use and it'd be nice to have them on the move).

so my system is (HP pavilion zv6000)

Athlon 64 3200+
    512MB RAM
    128MB ATI RADEON® XPRESS 200M w/Hypermemory
    54g™ Integ. Broadcom 802.11b/g WLAN & Bluetooth
    60GB HD (which I'll prob put 15 towards linux, this i can do with PM easily enough)

now what distribution will give me the easiest install?

I've used Fedora and know the program i have will run (well it ran on fedora core 2 i assume 4 as well)

The wireless would be lovely but I can sort that out later it's the install plus gfx that I want to make sure is ok.

Also I'm guessing i'll download the 64 bit version of the op (as i think that what it's for, corrct?).

Thanks

Nask

Linux Engineer
    If you're familiar with Fedora Core already, why not just use it?

You probably want to use a major distribution. See distrowatch.com's list of major distributions:
    http://distrowatch.com/dwres.php?resource=major

Just Joined!
    I just installed SuSe 10.0 Eval DVD 64 bit which is not a timed eval. It just means you have to download the rest of the software not in disc.

Had to use VESA / APIC=OFF (not acpi=off, you need that on)

I have the exact same laptop as you.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Check out this link for resources about what distro to choose: http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/topic-19023.html

Bryan