Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm a web developer trying to choose a linux/BSD distro for my laptop, any recommendations? It's important that I get my wireless card working so If you know any distros ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Best distro for wireless support

I'm a web developer trying to choose a linux/BSD distro for my laptop, any recommendations? It's important that I get my wireless card working so If you know any distros that are easy to configure with my card let me know.

Idealy I would like this pre-installed:

Apache/MySQL/PHP
    a GUI/desktop
    Firefox/Thunderbird
    Wireless support

I'm also hoping to have a relatively lightweight instalation (If you can call Linux with a desktop environment 'lightweight'). Although I'm not particularly short on diskspace I just don't want to install a load of apps I don't use.

So far I have a shortlist of:

simplyMepis (easy to install)
    gentoo (harder to install)
    freeBSD(??)

freeBSD is on the list because a lot of my websites are hosted on a friends freeBSD server and I'd like to learn a bit more about it.

Hardware:

Dell Latitude 110L
    Celeron M 1.3ghz
    512mb
    10gb to spare on HD
    Mobile intel 915GM/GMS,910GML
    Intel Pro/wireless 2200BG
    Sony DVD +-RW DW-D56A

Cheers for your advice

SimplyMEPIS, Suse, Xandros, and Ubuntu are the only ones the picked up my wireless out of the box, but i've gotten (at least one of my 3 wireless cards) working on each OS i've tried so just check out a few and see which one you like better and go with it. I'm pretty new myself, the 4 OS's i listed are all easy to install. SimplyMEPIS is what i currently run on the Laptop though.
    Desktop: Dual Xeon 2.8 GHz 1.5 GB RAM Ubuntu/XP Pro
    Laptop: Macbook 2 GHz C2Duo 3 GB RAM OS X/ Ubuntu/ XP Pro
    Linux Registration #396559

Go 'Stros!

Just Joined!