Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
I've got two perfectly good old laptops. One is a compaq, The other is a Dell Latitude LM. Now Both are set to boot to floppy! The compaq, when I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    12

    I'm in a bind!


    I've got two perfectly good old laptops.

    One is a compaq,

    The other is a Dell Latitude LM.

    Now

    Both are set to boot to floppy!

    The compaq, when I start it up asks, insert system disc, then hit enter.

    Well, I have Linux that I want to put on both machines on a CD.

    So, the Dell boots up perfectly to windows 95, except I don't know the BIOS password to tell the computer to look at the CD.

    Is it possible to put a floppy in a computer to tell it to look in the CD drive?

    These laptops are perfect for DSL or puppy linux!

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    you may want to look into something like: http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/topic-14601.html
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    12
    That fixed it for the compaq, except for the dell I get

    Disc Error! 0xAA

    What does that mean?

    I've tried multiple discs, and i'm still getting the same issue.

    Any suggestions?

  4. #4
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Quote Originally Posted by unknownman_007
    Any suggestions?
    I would use Google to search for software to rip the BIOS password. If a secure password was used this might be very difficult .... Or it might take a good few hours.

    Be careful that you don't download some evil malware from a dodgy Warez site. Try the bottom of this page. I haven't checked out the links as I'm at work and they might not like my journey into the land of password cracking.

    Off-topic: I once forgot my Windows BIOS password, but remembered that I used to base my passwords on parts of the body So I spent an interesting evening working my way up from toenails to hair.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast deltaflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    577
    if you still can't get the password, try this link, makes a bootable floppy to boot from a cd

    http://btmgr.webframe.org/index.php3?body=download.html

    andy
    SLOMO: acer extensa 5235 2.2ghz,2gb ram 160gb hdd wireless
    SPEEDY: homebrew desktop,Amd x2 dualcore,2gb ram,500gb +1tb( 2x500gb) hdd suse 11.3,32mb fibreline
    registered linux user #401845

  6. #6
    Linux User truoc444's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Southern Roots, Stuck in the Mountains
    Posts
    348
    i always just pull the cmos battery. especially for older machines 10 minutes with no juice and it usually goes back to its original settings.
    Desktop: Dual Xeon 2.8 GHz 1.5 GB RAM Ubuntu/XP Pro
    Laptop: Macbook 2 GHz C2Duo 3 GB RAM OS X/ Ubuntu/ XP Pro
    Linux Registration #396559

    Go 'Stros!

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    12
    Okay, now i've got it to work, that isn't the problem.

    The problem is the:

    Disc error! 0xAA

    I get when using the floppy that allows me to boot of a CD, does the computer need the CD drivers?

  8. #8
    Linux Enthusiast deltaflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    577
    shouldn't need the cd drivers if it's a boot cd. the error code ,0xAA, that means the drive cannot read the boot files or the cd.could be a problem with cd/drive ??

    andy
    SLOMO: acer extensa 5235 2.2ghz,2gb ram 160gb hdd wireless
    SPEEDY: homebrew desktop,Amd x2 dualcore,2gb ram,500gb +1tb( 2x500gb) hdd suse 11.3,32mb fibreline
    registered linux user #401845

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    12
    Well, i've used the cd's in multiple machines, so i'm stumped. Could the drive be broken? I'm about to give up I think, let me know if there are any last minite suggestions.

  10. #10
    Linux Guru fingal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham - UK
    Posts
    1,539
    Read this if you have time. Same problem, different forum. It might give you an idea. It's a long discussion, so you might abandon the will to live halfway through.
    I am always doing that which I can not do, in order that I may learn how to do it. - Pablo Picasso

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •